“WE ARE FAMILY, INDEED!”

I was on the Westside of Cleveland recently, and I found myself taking a long interesting look around me as I drove, got gas and got lost.  But I found myself fascinated by the realization of what I was seeing.  And what was I seeing that had so intrigued me, you may ask?  People.  People you say?  Yes, people.  I watched, and fellowshiped with and talked to people of different colors, different ethnic backgrounds, different denominations, different shapes, weights and sizes, after I finally found out where I was going that is.  They come together in the spirit of one common cause, and that cause was to bless and dedicate an awesome and wonderful spirit lead faith filled house of Worship that is known by the name of “Lift Him Up Ministries at 4004 Cypress Avenue.”   If you’ve never been there, you’ve got to visit.  But, this house of Worship was dedicated to God and to the community.  I enjoyed being there in the midst of the fellowship of people who I know I can most assuredly call “My Brethren.”  It didn’t matter what side of town they had come from, or what they looked like, we were there and we were all brethren.  But in realizing that, also made me wonder something else, and here is where my musing took me; We ALL have derived from the same father and mother, Adam and Eve.  So not just in a sense, but in all actuality, we are truly related.  We are family.  Familia’.  We have the same start-up parents, so to speak. And that got me wondering some more; what if we ALL knew each other?  Not just as strangers in passing on the street, or you come from east and I come from west and never the twain shall meet, but actually knew each other.  It’s Like, “I have brothers and sisters, not just on the west side of Cleveland, but on the West Coast of the United States and of the world.”  What if we greeted one another, not like strangers, but instead like, real true brothers and sisters.  Like, “Hey brother, hey sister, how are you?  Good to see you again.”

My thoughts and my imagination were going rampant as I really got excited about the prospects.  And my way-ward thoughts reminded me of the time that I was in Wal-Mart shortly after Christmas for the after Christmas sale.  Oh, you know what I’m talking about.  Don’t act like you don’t go to those sales that are everywhere,  trying to grab up some picked over, left over bargains that you will probably mis-place before the next Holiday season comes around or that won’t even work when you really need them, for reasons unknown, and you end up buying all new decorations again the next season.  But that’s another story.  Anyway, as I was going through the leftovers, someone started talking to me about the ornaments.   And as this person engaged me in conversation, we both found a lot of things.  I found out that this person and I had so much in common  that we could have actually been sisters, or some sort of blood relation.  We picked the same things for our carts.  And found out that we did the same arts and crafts.  We were both avid readers.  We even both liked old movies.  We were both married, and we both had 6 children.  Freaky Huh?  Yeah, we stood there laughing and talking for quite some time, like old friends, until my husband and children came in search for me.  But the interesting thing is, we were not of the same ethnicity.  Not only that, she bore a striking resemblance to one of my cousins, only with reddish blond hair.   After that strange encounter, I begin to see people everywhere of different races that looked exactly like someone else I knew.  It led me to believe infatically,  that we are truly related to each other, whether we like it or not.

So, here is the question.  Could it be, that if we begin to realize that we are indeed family, and we begin to treat one another like family?  you know, the good side of the family that you really like, and enjoy spending time with.  And what if we would begin to treat one another more decently, and with the dignity and respect that another human being deserves?  And perhaps we would begin to treat those precious lives that God created more carefully, knowing that, this is my brother, this is my sister.  We are family, and I would not harm or misuse my family in any sort of way.   Would I?  Because family loves one another.  Family takes care of one another.  Family is there for you.  Right? So maybe, just maybe, we can really be family when we realize who we are?  Wouldn’t that be an awesome thing?

Now, tell us what YOU think.

One thought on ““WE ARE FAMILY, INDEED!”

  1. Pingback: Little Things Meet A Lot | My Everyday Psychology

Leave a Reply

